Opportunities & Calls

Home » Opportunities & Calls » The Ottawa Little Theatre 80th National One-Act Playwriting Competition

The Ottawa Little Theatre 80th National One-Act Playwriting Competition

The Ottawa Little Theatre One-Act Playwriting Competition is Canada’s oldest playwriting competition. It was first held in 1937 and has been won by a who’s who of Canadian literary luminaries. Past winners include esteemed Canadian writers and prominent playwrights such as Robertson Davies, John Murrell, Erika Ritter, Catherine Banks, and Ken Mitchell, to name just a few.

First Prize                            $1,000                   Ottawa Little Theatre Award

Second Prize                      $   750                    Dorothy White Award

Third Prize                          $   500                     Gladys Cameron Watt Award

Sybil Cooke Award for a Play for Children or Young People $500


  • original one-act plays in English, encouraging literacy and dramatic talent in Canada
  • plays with a maximum playing time of 60 minutes, and a minimum playing time of 25 minutes
  • plays that are previously unproduced OR have been produced no earlier than in the current year
  • all professional and non-professional Canadian playwrights residing in Canada, including landed immigrants
  • special award for the Best Play for Children or Young People

For more information, please refer to the poster at this link.
For the entry form, click here. For the parent or guardian acknowledgment form, click here.

For any other inquiries, please contact [email protected]

Winners will be announced in May 2021

All entrants must agree to allow the Ottawa Little Theatre, if it chooses to do so, to produce their play at the 2021 Eastern Ontario Drama League One-Act Play Festival.

Please note that there will be no Playwrights’ Week in 2021.

Deadline for Submissions: December 31, 2020